In 2022, CD 13 to join area as 4th district moves away

| December 2, 2021 | 0 Comments

Our Los Angeles City Council Districts will look very different in the New Year.

Councilmen Mitch O’Farrell’s 13th District and Paul Koretz’s Fifth District will absorb portions of the city that have been in the Fourth District for more than 70 years. The new Fourth District will be primarily in the Hollywood Hills and the San Fernando Valley.

The changes, which take effect January 1, result from Redistricting Commission recommendations, as revised by an Ad Hoc Committee of the City Council and the full City Council.

The City Council was scheduled to make a final vote Dec. 1.

Paul Koretz

Councilman Paul Koretz

Koretz, who will be termed out at the end of 2022, following three terms on the Council, is running for City Controller.

As councilman, he served on the Budget & Finance Committee for 10 years, chaired the Audits and Government Efficiency Committee, and currently
chairs the Personnel, Audits and Animal Welfare Committee.

In 1984, Koretz helped incorporate the City of West Hollywood, and he served on the West Hollywood City Council from 1988-2000. He also represented California’s California 42nd Assembly District before being elected to the Los Angeles City Council.
He hails from the San Fernando Valley and attended Hamilton High and UCLA.

Mitch O’Farrell

O’Farrell will seek a third term in the June 7, 2022 primary election (and, if a runoff is necessary, the Nov. 7 general election). He began his public service as a field deputy, district director and senior advisor to then Councilmember Eric Garcetti before succeeding Garcetti in the “Hollywood” District of the Council.

Councilman Mitch O’Farrell

On the City Council, O’Farrell chairs the Energy, Climate Change, Environmental Justice and River Committee, and he is chair of the Ad Hoc Committee on the 2028 Olympics and Paralympics. He also is a committee member of the Ad Hoc Committee on COVID-19 Recovery and Neighborhood Investment; Immigrant, Civil Rights and Equity Committee; Public Works Committee; and Board of Referred Powers.

An Oklahoma native, he moved to Los Angeles in 1982.

Tags: ,

Category: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *