SBBA 2023: Team Mexico wins D-League finals

| March 30, 2023 | 0 Comments

TEAM MEXICO players, from left: Linus Davies, Coltrane Ragsdale, Henry Hoegee, Edward Min, Joe Fiedler, Jee Hye Moon, Nico Franck, Matthew Suh, Leo Yaitanes and coach Nick Padua.

The SBBA (Saint Brendan Basketball Association) 2023 season concluded Saturday, March 25 with the division playoff semifinals and title games. That was nine games in one day! Doesn’t get any better for youth basketball fans.

Championship Saturday began early with the first of two Bobcat Division (ages 8-9) semifinal games. The eventual champions were Salt & Straw, coached by Ben Gellar. Their leading scorer for the season was Justice Johnson. He ended with 155 points.

The Cobra Division (ages 10-11) title game followed next. The champions here were The Burns, coached by Kyle Ross and Andrew Wright. The team’s leading scorer was Liam Duerler, who ended his season with 133 points.

Team Mexico, coached by Nick Padua, won the D-League (ages 12, 13, 14) title. Nick’s team also won the D-League title last season. Team Mexico’s leading scorer for the season was Coltrane Ragsdale, who ended with 256 points. Coltrane is 13 and returns next year.

The 2023 Gus Deppe H.E.R.O. Award winners were also announced after the concluding championship games. Those winners were Micah Minton, Alligators Division, Davis Bolden, Bobcats Division, Rex Wright, Cobras Division, and Joe Fiedler, D-League Division.

By Jim Kalin

Tags: , , ,

Category: People

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *